Posted by: jenniupnorth | May 21, 2012

From the Southwest…

Here I sit at the world’s most amazing laundromat.  So I have a chance to post just a little.  This place has free wi-fi, a TV room for my kids and lots of enormous washers and dryers.  And a cute little lady who walks around cleaning things up.  It’s very nice and doesn’t fit my stereo-typical idea of a laundromat!

Continuing from  my last post…  We made it to Sandra’s house Thursday night.  Keith was still sort of sick.  During the weekend, Josiah and I got sick and Logan and Hannah got the sniffles.  Ugh.  I spent Mother’s Day plastered to the recliner.  The weather wasn’t great while we were there (some rain and snow) so we didn’t go on the hike we had planned.  We did have time to relax, shop a little (Thrift Stores, etc), Keith, Neal, and Caleb went to an auction…  One night we had a “fry” with some of their friends.  Neal has a trailer that has a deep fryer, griddle and other stuff on it.  The point of the meal is to fry anything and everything, and eat a little salad on the side.  Everyone sort of wanders around and grabs stuff as it comes out of the fryer.  Plates are optional (unless you’re eating salad, I guess.)  On the menu was chicken nuggets, breaded mushrooms, breaded shrimp, jalapenos stuffed with cheese and wrapped in bacon, french fries, sweet potato fries, bannock cheese sticks, onion rings, pork loin…  It was very yummy!

On Monday, we went to the Royal Gorge.  Everyone went except Neal who had to work, and Meriah who was sick. 😦  It was a beautiful day and there was plenty to do there and we even got sun-burned.  To top off the day, Keith, Shania and I went on the Skycoaster.  It’s a giant “swing” that they strap you in, pull you way back up high, then you free-fall for abit and then swing way out over the canyon.  Freaky and very awesome!!  Maybe some day I can post a video if I can figure out how to do it.  I would do it again for sure, but it also made me very sure that I never want to sky-dive!  That free-fall stuff is just terrifying.

I think I need to go fold a mountain of laundry now.  We’re getting a hotel tonight so I might be able to post a few pictures…

 


Responses

  1. Yes! Post pictures! I’m proud of you for doing that hideous swing thing. Sounds absolutely terrible.

  2. Hmm…part of me really wants to try something like that sometime, except I don’t like the big bucks they always seem to cost. My family loved the Royal Gorge – so much to do for one price (or at least it was 10+ yrs. ago…).

  3. I would NEVER try a ride like that. Proud of you for doing so though! =) Glad you’re over your sickies.

  4. Great post, dear. I’m proud of you for the swing fling thing (am I in a Jungle Jam sketch?) The Grand Canyon is…unbelievable. Even after you see it. The literature says 1,000 cubic miles of earth was taken out of the canyon. I’m still trying to figure out where all that dirt went.


Leave a comment

Categories